Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locate books, videos/DVDs, sound recordings, journals/magazines/newspapers & government documents available at Mikkelsen Library. Your search can be expanded to search libraries around the world.
Dependable and cost-free electronic books for the Augustana community!
A collection of e-books focused on dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and reference books covering a variety of topics.
A full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive record of English language development, OED traces the evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources.
These are the best specialized databases for your work in English or Journalism
Artemis - Gale Literary Resources
Access up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Also provides locating full-text literary works, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, plays and speeches.
Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select
Provides access to an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors
A digital archive includes more than 3,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
Full text access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database with full text in many topics including the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Full text articles, documents, and other materials from newspapers, business and trade journals, general interest magazines, company reports, legal and tax documents.
, Business Administration
, Computer Science
, Government Information Resources
, Modern Foreign Languages