Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All Hours

Mikkelsen Library Art

View art from the Mikkelsen Library Collection

Lower Level Gallery

Barn Studio

Artist: Robert Aldern

Medium: Giclee

Location: Lower level, Southeast stacks

Mikkelsen Library Collection

Disraeli desk reproduction

Artist: Baker Furniture Stately Home Collection

Medium: Wood furniture with leather inlaid top

Location: Myklebust room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Dr. Helmer Myklebust

Artist: Jackie Bird

Medium: Pencil on paper

Location: Myklebust Room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

USA Map

Artist: Eros Data Center

Medium: Satellite image mosaic

Location: Media Lab

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

O Send Out Thy Light & Thy Truth That They May Lead Me

Artist: Paul Goble

Medium: Original watercolor

Location: Lower level, Media Services office area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Hans Christian Andersen

Artist: Shari Hamilton

Medium: Bronze sculpture

Location: Lower level concourse

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Carts - Fukuoka

Artist: Clifton Karhu

Medium: Woodblock print

Location: Lower level concourse

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

 

Japanese village

Artist: Clifton Karhu

Medium: Watercolor

Location: Media Services office area (south wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Mt. Fuji III

Artist: Clifton Karhu

Medium: Woodblock print

Location: Lower level concourse

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Roofs - Kyoto

Artist: Clifton Karhu

Medium: Woodblock print

Location: Lower level concourse

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

The Ploughman's Horse XVI

Artist: Ronald King

Medium: Silkscreen

Location: Lower level north (south wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Automatic Pump

Artist: Fred Lawyer

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 121

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

The Mikkelsen Library

Artist: Nicole Lindsey

Medium: Colored pencil

Location: Office 133

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Historic Montage of Sioux Falls

Artist: Bruce Loeschen

Medium: Pen and ink print

Location: Lower level, east hallway

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Dr. Helmer R. Myklebust

Artist: Eugene A. Montgomery

Medium: Oil on canvas

Location: Myklebust Room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

M. Helen Qualset Myklebust

Artist: Eugene A. Montgomery

Medium: Oil on canvas

Location: Myklebust Room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Hand Boy - Oglala Lakota

Artist: Donald F. Montileaux

Medium: Ledger Art - color pencil and ink

Location: Office 132

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Spike Ball

Artist: Carl Norquist

Medium: Wood and steel sculpture

Location: South glass stair tower

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Tentrix-10

Artist: Carl Norquist

Medium: Intaglio

Location: Office 132

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

La Hoo-Catt

Artist: D. George Prisbe-Przybysz

Medium: Acrylic on canvas

Location: Media Services office area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Toward Heaven

Artist: Gisele Robinson

Medium: Oil on canvas

Location: Lower level north (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Norwegian Needlework

Artist: Eleanor Shanley

Medium: Needlepoint

Location: Norwegian Room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Van Gogh's Irises

Artist: Eleanor Shanley

Medium: Needlepoint

Location: Office 133

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Farm in Valdres, Norway

Artist: R.A. Stokes

Medium: Oil on masonite

Location: Norwegian Room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Jabberwock

Artist: John Tenniel

Medium: Black and white print

Location: Lower level, north study area (south wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Norge i 12 Originale Fargestresnitt (Top: Høst i storskogen, Middle: Novemberstorm på Vestlandet, Bottom: Hvit jul)

Artist: Frithjof Tidemand-Johannessen

Medium: Original color woodcuts on paper

Location: Norwegian Room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Norge i 12 Origniale Fargestresnitt (Top: Epleblomster i Hardanger, Middle: Vårkveld i Telemark, Bottom: Fuglefjell i midnattsol)

Artist: Frithjof Tidemand-Johannessen

Medium: Original color woodcuts on paper

Location: Norwegian Room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Norge i 12 Originale Fargestresnitt (Top: Sommerdag i skjærgården, Middle: Kornaker på Østlandet, Bottom: Høyfjell)

Artist: Frithjof Tidemand-Johannessen

Medium: Original color woodcuts on paper

Location: Norwegian Room   

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection     

Bowing Sunflower

Artist: Lindsay Twa

Medium: Engraving

Location: Media Services office area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Man with Guitar

Artist: Samuel Wang

Medium: Mixed media on paper

Location: Lower level concourse (east wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

The Mice and the Bell

Artist: Carrie Ward

Medium: Intaglio

Location: Lower level, north (east wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Alice in Wonderland

Artist: Charles M. Ware

Medium: Etching with hand tint

Location: Lower level north study area (south wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Seven Sisters

Artist: Sharon Welch

Medium: Acrylic on canvas

Location: Lower level, north (east wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Main Level Gallery

Along Life's Journey

Artist: Ken Bird

Medium: Stained glass

Location: Main entry

Mikkelsen Library Collection

Wall

Artist: Alison Bradley

Medium: Print, Charcoal on paper

Location: Main level, staff area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Untitled

Artist: John Carlander

Medium: Watercolor

Location: Main level staff area, north wall

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Cornerstone

Artist: Ogden Dalrymple

Medium: Limestone sculpture

Location: Northwest exterior

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Moses

Artist: Ogden Dalrymple

Medium: Limestone sculpture

Location: West exterior wall

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

The Falls, Falls Park. 2015

Artist: Michelle Diehl

Medium: Black and white photograph

Location: Office 209

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Untitled

Artist: Palmer Eide

Medium: Walnut sculpture

Location: Main concourse

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Pride Festival

Artist: Rodger Ellingson

Medium: Acrylic on canvas

Location: Main concourse

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Deep Blue

Artist: Noah Fisher

Medium: Mixed media

Location: Main level south reading area (east wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Red Poppies

Artist: Noah Fisher

Medium: Ink on ceramic tile

Location: Main level concourse

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Untitled

Artist: Noah Fisher

Medium: Mixed media

Location: Main level staff area (south wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Portrait of Amund Mikkelsen

Artist: Herbjorn N. Gausta

Medium: Oil on canvas

Location: Main level reference area (east wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Mulberry Bend in August

Artist: Sharon Gray

Medium: Watercolor

Location: Office 208

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Another Riverscape

Artist: Carl Grupp

Medium: Twill pen and ink

Location: Main level reference area (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Meditation Mountain

Artist: Carl Grupp

Medium: Oil on three panels

Location: Main level, North side, Reading room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Untitled

Artist: Carl Grupp

Medium:  Watercolor on paper

Location: North stairwell

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

All These Good Things Will Go With Me

Artist: Warren Hanson

Medium: Giclee on canvas

Location: Main level, Ole's Oasis reading area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

First Strike

Artist: Nancy Hong

Medium: Marble sculpture

Location: Main level, Reference area (north wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Blue Dragon and Fairy

Artist: Joseph Keating

Medium: Oil on canvas

Location: Main floor, south side

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Running at You

Artist: Donald F. Montileaux

Medium: Mixed media ledger art

Location: Main level, Southeast side

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Braided Rug

Artist: Glenda Ileen Aamodt Olsen

Medium: Wool weaving

Location: Reference reading area

Mikkelsen Library Collection

Pink Floral Arrangement

Artist: Glenda Ileen Aamodt Olsen

Medium: Oil on canvas

Location: Main level, south reading area (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Knowledge, Inspiration, Understanding

Artist: John Henry Peters

Medium: Wood reliefs -- Walnut, mahogany, maple with gold leaf

Location: Main level, North Side, Fireplace Area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Vessel I

Artist: Gerry Punt

Medium: Salt-fired pottery

Location: Fireplace reading area

Mikkelsen Library Collection

Vessel II

Artist: Gerry Punt

Medium: Salt-fired pottery

Location: Fireplace reading area

Mikkelsen Library Collection

Landscape Pair I

Artist: Julie Punt

Medium: Salt-fired pottery

Location: Main level fireplace niche

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Landscape Pair II

Artist: Julie Punt

Medium: Salt-fired pottery

Location: Main level fireplace niche

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Leaving New York: Never Easy

Artist: Robert Ruf

Medium: Oil on extruded polystyrene

Location: Main level, staff area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Welcome Home

Artist: Robert Ruf

Medium: Oil on extruded polystyrene

Location: Main level south (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Pines

Artist: Axel Eugene Schar

Medium: Ink on paper

Location: Main level staff area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Bell Pull Needlework

Artist: Eleanor Shanley

Medium: Needlepoint

Location: Main level, staff break room

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Feather

Artist: Eleanor Shanley

Medium: Needlepoint

Location: Main level, north reading area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Red Bird

Artist: Tom Shields

Medium: Oil on paper

Location: Main level, Reference area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Norwegian Tapestry

Artist: Borghild Negaard Simonsen

Medium: Wool Tapestry

Location: Reference on the Main Floor

Mikkelsen Library Collection

Andante

Artist: Steve Thomas

Medium: Marble sculpture

Location: Main level reference area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Gethsemane

Artist: Steve Thomas

Medium: Bronze sculpture

Location: Main level fireplace niche

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Portrait of Charline Smith

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Watercolor

Location: Main level reference area

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Madonna and Child

Artist: Peter Lipman Wulf

Medium: Plaster with cast metal overlay

Location: Reference area (north wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Chang'e's Ascent to the Moon

Artist: Yang Yang

Medium: Color reproduction

Location: Main level concourse

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Upper Level Gallery

Night Scene, Bay Near Dock 44

Artist: Sheila Agee

Medium: Oil on canvas

Location: Upper level, North side (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sacrificial Land

Artist: Robert Aldern

Medium: Oil on Masonite

Location: Upper level, North stairwell

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

The Big Day Dream

Artist: Rachel Bachman

Medium: Oil on canvas

Location: Upper level, north side (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Windmill Farm

Artist: Mary Brunick

Medium: Screen print

Location: Group study room, 324

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Soaring Spirit

Artist: Russ Duerksen

Medium: Color lithograph

Location: Upper level north (south wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Landscapes of Our Lives

Artist: Beverly English

Medium: Weaving

Location: Upper level south (east wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Heart of a Tree

Artist: Noah Fisher

Medium: Cedar wood sculpture

Location: Upper level north

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

To Posterity

Artist: Carl Grupp

Medium: Ink on paper

Location: Upper level north (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Unstable Book Stack

Artist: Courtney Hardie

Medium: Ink on paper

Location: Group study room 320

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Creek

Artist: Ryan J. Howard

Medium: Oil on canvas

Location: Upper level north (east wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Birch tree landscape

Artist: Arne H. Karhu

Medium: Oil on masonite

Location: Upper level, north reading area (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

 

Summer Solstice

Artist: Laron McGinn

Medium: Alkyd oil on canvas

Location: Upper level, southwest study area (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Thanks for Being

Artist: Donald F. Montileaux

Medium: Color print on paper

Location: Upper level, north side (east wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Past Utopia

​​​​​​Artist: Robert Ruf

Medium: Oil on extruded polystyrene

Location: Upper level south (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Duluth Area

Artist: Axel Eugene Schar

Medium: Oil on art board

Location: Upper level north reading area (west wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Mikkelsen Library on a Winter Night

Artist: John E. Simko

Medium: Color photograph

Location: Upper level north (south wall)

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Blue Trees in Snow

Artist: Andrew Sovjani

Medium: Color lithograph

Location: Group study room 322

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sketches of Augustana - Administration Building

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 323

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sketches of Augustana - Administration Building 2

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 310

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sketches of Augustana - Aldern Reredos

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 319

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sketches of Augustana - Aldern Reredos 2

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 310

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sketches of Augustana - Mikkelsen Library

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 310

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sketches of Augustana - Morrison Commons

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 305

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sketches of Augustana - Old Main

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 305

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sketches of Augustana - Ole

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 310

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection

Sketches of Augustana - Old Main 2

Artist: Jane Chu Thompson

Medium: Pencil drawing

Location: Group study room 311

Mikkelsen Library Art Collection