Last Updated: Aug 29, 2014
To find books, media, and other materials, search the Mikkelsen Library Catalog
Call numbers by floor:
A-C Lower Level
D-E Main Level
F-Z Upper Level
Dependable and cost-free electronic books for the Augustana community!
- EBSCO e-books
A collection of e-books focused on dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and reference books covering a variety of topics.
- CREDO Reference
A full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
- ebrary Academic Complete e-books
A growing and changing collection of 70,000+ e-books in many different academic subject areas including business, education, history, life sciences, medicine, psychology, religion and social sciences.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive record of English language development, OED traces the evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook
IMS is an extensive collection of primary sources for studying the ancient, medieval and Reformation periods (including writings by Augustine, Anselm, Aquinas, Luther and many others).
- Perseus Digital Library
Classical Greek and Roman Resources, including texts, textual aids, and images.
These are the best specialized databases for your work in Philosophy or other philosophical research
- Philosopher's Index
A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
- PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages.
- InteLex Past Masters: Charles Peirce
Access to the Charles Peirce: Collected Papers and the Charles Peirce: Published Works I
- Ancient & Medieval History
Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of eight civilizations-ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient and medieval Asia covering prehistory through the 1500s.
A digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
- Project Muse
Full text access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Try these dependable databases for recent, predominantly full-text articles
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database with full text in many topics including the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Type in the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper here:
This will locate full-text and library holdings for journals, magazines and newspapers.