Last Updated: Aug 13, 2013
To find books, media, and other materials, search the Mikkelsen Library Catalog
Call numbers by floor:
A-C Lower Level
D-E Main Level
F-Z Upper Level
Dependable and cost-free electronic books for the Augustana community!
- EbscoHost E-books
A collection of electronic books -- 5,800+ from academic/trade publishers and 2,900+ from the public domain. Books may be previewed for 15 minutes.
- CREDO Reference
Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service. The collection includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of world's the best reference publishers. Credo’s collection contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The definitive record of English language development, OED traces the evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook
IMS is an extensive collection of primary sources for studying the ancient, medieval and Reformation periods (including writings by Augustine, Anselm, Aquinas, Luther and many others).
- Perseus Digital Library
Classical Greek and Roman Resources, including texts, textual aids, and images.
These are the best specialized databases for your work in Philosophy or other philosophical research
- Philosopher's Index
Philosopher's Index is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews and contains research published since 1940.
- Intelex Past Masters: Charles Peirce
InteLex Corporation's Past Masters series encompasses the world's largest collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy. Augustana subscribes to the portion containing the works of Charles Peirce, American philosopher, mathematician, logician, and scientist.
- Ancient and Medieval History Online
Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of eight civilizations-ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient and medieval Asia covering prehistory through the 1500s.
JSTOR includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire archive is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles.
- Project Muse
Project MUSE provides 100% full-text, online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. The journals are heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
- ATLA Religion with ATLAS Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
- PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages.
Try these dependable databases for recent, predominantly full-text articles
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database which provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Type in the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper here:
This will locate full-text and library holdings for journals, magazines and newspapers.