Your guide to library resources
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2012
To find books, media, and other materials, search the Mikkelsen Library Catalog
Call numbers by floor:
A-C Lower Level
D-E Main Level
F-Z Upper Level
Dependable and cost-free electronic books for the Augustana community!
- EbscoHost E-books
A collection of electronic books -- 5,800+ from academic/trade publishers and 2,900+ from the public domain. Books may be previewed for 15 minutes.
- CREDO Reference
Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service. The collection includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of world's the best reference publishers. Credo’s collection contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The definitive record of English language development, OED traces the evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources.
These are the best specialized databases for your work in Communications.
- Communication Studies: A SAGE full-text Collection
The SAGE Journals Online provide access to some of the most popular peer- reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides a quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media incorporating the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
- CQ Ressearcher
CQEL provides access to the full-text of CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher and CQ Global Researcher.
- SIRS Issue Researcher
Issues Researcher is a general reference database containing full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from domestic and international publications, and are indexed according to Library of Congress subject headings.
JSTOR includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire archive is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles.
- Project Muse
Project MUSE provides 100% full-text, online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. The journals are heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Try these dependable databases for recent, predominantly full-text articles
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database which provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. The comprehensive news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Type in the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper here:
This will locate full-text and library holdings for journals, magazines and newspapers.