Skip to main content
Locate books, videos/DVDs, sound recordings, journals/magazines/newspapers & government documents available at Mikkelsen Library. Your search can be expanded to search libraries around the world.
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Fordham University's Internet History Sourcebooks Project
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. All links have been tested for correctness and appropriateness and are maintained by the University of Idaho Library.
American Memory Collection
Includes multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress's Americana collections. There are currently more than 100 collections in the American Memory Historical Collections.
A citation tool that will help you to: cite your sources in multiple format (both in-text and reference page citations), store and organize your sources, share your sources with others, organize your notes for each source and outline your paper or project. Users need to contact the library for a user code.
A full-text online reference service, CREDO contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
These are the best specialized databases for your work in History.
American Indian History Online
American Indian History Online offers access to more than 15,000 years of culture and history through event and topic entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, legends, primary sources, and timeline entries.
New York Times Historical
Full text access to the New York Times from 1851-2013.
A digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.
Full text access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database with full text in many topics including the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Search a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
, Business Administration
, Computer Science
, Government Information Resources
, Modern Foreign Languages
Ask an Augie Librarian
Chat reference is unavailable. See options below.
Need help? Ask Us!
Mon - Thu. 10am - 5pm,
6pm - 10pm
Fri. 10am - 3pm
Sun. 2pm - 9pm
For additional assistance, please contact a librarian.
Text: 605.610.8398 (standard text messaging rates apply)
© 2017 Mikkelsen Library, Augustana
Contact us: Augustana Librarians | Ph. 605.274.4921 | Fax 605.274.5447 | 2001 S. Summit Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57197 | GPS 43.5249978, -96.7362835