Skip to main content
Digital Collections for the Classroom
Newberry Digital Collections for the Classroom are thematic collections of primary source documents selected from the Newberry’s extensive holdings. They are designed for easy incorporation into classroom teaching and support many of the skills emphasized by the Common Core State Standards.
Edward E. Ayer Digital Collection
As a collection of general Americana, the Newberry’s Edward E. Ayer Collection is one of the best in the country and one of the strongest collections on American Indians in the world.
Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana
Explore more than 130,000 digitized images from the Newberry’s renowned Graff Collection documenting America’s westward expansion.
Mapping Movement in American History and Culture
This online archive and companion to the study, interpretation, and educational use of American maps of movement features more than 500 images of maps and accompanying text drawn from the extensive collections of the Newberry Library, from the European explorers’ maps to modern aviation cartography.
America's larger public libraries hold historical riches and make them freely available to the world.
Historic American newspapers including the South Dakota communities of Canton (1876-1916) and Yankton (1875-1885).
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services
Europeana is a simple but powerful tool for finding resources from all over Europe. Books, journals, films, maps, photos, music etc. are available for everyone to consult – and to use, copyright permitting.
© 2017 Mikkelsen Library, Augustana
Contact us: Augustana Librarians | Ph. 605.274.4921 | Fax 605.274.5447 | 2001 S. Summit Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57197 | GPS 43.5249978, -96.7362835